The Networking Platform for the World's Top Project Cargo Specialists

Sydney
21:19
Beijing
18:19
Cape Town
12:19
Los Angeles
03:19
Tokyo
19:19
Mumbai
15:49
London
11:19
New York
06:19

C.H. Robinson Ensures Smooth Transportation of Huge Tanks

17th May 2019

C.H. Robinson Ensures Smooth Transportation of Huge Tanks
C.H. Robinson Ensures Smooth Transportation of Huge Tanks

When tasked with transporting massive chemical tanks from Mexico, C.H. Robinson's resourceful project logistics team used careful coordination and efficient planning to help ensure a smooth and straightforward move. Including land and ocean transportation, C.H. Robinson's full suite of global logistics and technology solutions served all the customer's transportation requirements.

"Our experts were recently awarded a contract to move three large, horizontal CO2 storage tanks from Huehuetoca in Mexico to Freeport in Texas. With each tank measuring 40.32 x 3.86 x 4.34m and weighing 75,000kg (see below for photos), the overland and overseas logistics required to move the over-dimensional cargo would be no small task.

Understanding the capacities and capabilities of what transportation modes were available, the project logistics team formulated a clear plan for a safe and orderly move. First, to reduce their height from 4.34m to 3.75m for an easier inland transport from Huehuetoca to Veracruz's port, the tanks were rotated 90 degrees before being loaded onto extendible trailers. Once at the port, a crane and spreader bars rotated the tanks again, loading them upright onto stands.

But here a challenge emerged; the tanks had valves protruding at the base, higher than the height of the saddles. So, C.H. Robinson's team worked proactively with the master of the vessel to plan for loading the tanks on 6ʹ x 6" dunnage that would keep the valves undamaged. With this equipment in place, the tanks were then carefully loaded on deck for the voyage from Veracruz to the Port of Houston, Texas. On arrival in Houston, the tanks were carefully offloaded onto heavy-duty 16-line Goldhofer THP trailers and trucked a short way to their final destination in Freeport."

The client was pleased with the safe and timely delivery of the cargo and C.H. Robinson Project Logistics once again completed another complex transportation challenge with collaborative end-to-end solutions that helped make the experience easy for everyone involved.

http://www.chrprojectlogistics.com