The Networking Platform for the World's Top Project Cargo Specialists

Sydney
02:13
Beijing
00:13
Cape Town
18:13
Los Angeles
09:13
Tokyo
01:13
Mumbai
21:43
London
17:13
New York
12:13

Afriguide Logistics Ship CAT Trucks from Durban to Madagascar

4th June 2024

Afriguide Logistics Ship CAT Trucks from Durban to Madagascar
Afriguide Logistics Ship CAT Trucks from Durban to Madagascar

Afriguide Logistics recently handled the shipping of CAT dump trucks from Durban to Ehoala Port, Madagascar.


Afriguide Director, Brad Stephens explains; "With the demise of BBK Liner services and chaos with RO/RO liner schedules, finding ocean transport solutions for out-of-gauge cargo has become a constant challenge. More and more, we find ourselves forced to turn to flat racks as the only option to move out-of-gauge cargo. Whilst flat racks are a perfectly good solution for many cargoes that refuse to 'fit inside the box', the dimensions and handling complexities of some cargo push the boundaries of what is feasible for a flat-rack shipment."

"We were tasked with the shipment of 4 x CAT 745 dump trucks from Durban to Ehoala Port in Madagascar. Ordinarily, a RORO shipment would be the best solution for these mobile self-propelled units. However, at present, no such service exists to this region and a FR shipment was the only option."

"We have shipped many ADT's on flat-racks in the past, but the CAT 745 is right at the maximum limit of what can fit on a 40'FR - at least with the headboards up. The solution was to support the truck entirely with dunnage in the form of 'mine boxes' in both the forward and aft sections of the chassis. This completely negated the potential for developing slack in the lashing due to a loss of air in the tyres. Of course, ample lashing with chains and binders for the shipment was an absolute necessity."

"At Afriguide Logistics, we have become accustomed to finding a solution for awkward cargo and making them work safely for shipping, as we have in this case."

http://www.afriguidelogistics.co.za