The Networking Platform for the World's Top Project Cargo Specialists

Sydney
06:52
Beijing
04:52
Cape Town
22:52
Los Angeles
13:52
Tokyo
05:52
Mumbai
02:22
London
21:52
New York
16:52

C.H. Robinson & Actanis Project Cargo Arrange Transport of Large Tank

13th June 2019

C.H. Robinson & Actanis Project Cargo Arrange Transport of Large Tank
C.H. Robinson & Actanis Project Cargo Arrange Transport of Large Tank

C.H. Robinson and Actanis Project Cargo have recently arranged the transport of a large horizontal cryogenic steel tank measuring 19.28 x 4.57 x 4.95m.

The shipper needed to move the cryogenic tank from the factory in Turkey to the Port of Gemlik and then on to the customer in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Fellow PCN member in Turkey, Actanis Project Cargo handled the land transportation from the factory in Maltepe to the Port of Gemlik and arranged the ocean transport on behalf of C.H. Robinson who oversaw the loading onto the ocean vessel and trucking to site on arrival at Buenos Aires.

The C.H. Robinson experts considered various modal options and routes and ultimately decided to move the breakbulk-sized tank on a container vessel that offered the most direct routing available. As a market leader in major global trade lanes, C.H. Robinson was able to secure the capacity needed for the cryogenic tank and the loading and securing onto the vessel required careful coordination from local experts.

Using multiple slings, the tank was lifted by shore cranes and transferred directly from a low-bed truck to the ship's hold. Once in place, the crew carefully lashed and wedged the tank in place using dunnage to secure and steady it throughout the ocean voyage and it was also fully tarped to keep it dry and protected during the passage. All loading operations were conducted under the supervision of an appointed marine warranty surveyor. On arrival, C.H. Robinson had project logistics experts on the scene to oversee the unloading process. Please click the gallery below for photos of the project.

Thanks to the vigilant planning of C.H. Robinson and Actanis Project Cargo, the handoff to the consignee went without a hitch, despite the oversized dimensions of the huge tank.

http://www.chrprojectlogistics.com

http://www.actanis.com