The Networking Platform for the World's Top Project Cargo Specialists

Sydney
06:17
Beijing
04:17
Cape Town
22:17
Los Angeles
13:17
Tokyo
05:17
Mumbai
01:47
London
21:17
New York
16:17

C.H. Robinson Assists in the Transport of 8 Modules by Barge

29th April 2022

C.H. Robinson Assists in the Transport of 8 Modules by Barge
C.H. Robinson Assists in the Transport of 8 Modules by Barge

The project logistics experts at C.H. Robinson were recently contracted by their customer to move a set of refinery modules by barge. The job included 8 units with a combined weight of approximately 538 metric tons.

The units first needed to be transported one-by-one via a self-propelled modular transporter (SPMT) from the manufacturer in Oklahoma to a nearby wharf.

Before creating a transport plan, one of C.H. Robinson’s specialists traveled to the wharf to meet up with the heavy lift transporter to assess the site, confirm dimensions, and do a survey of the low-water wharf in Oklahoma.

Once all the intelligence was gathered, the team put together a plan for loading.

C.H. Robinson returned to the wharf site to monitor the transport and loading of their customer's freight in Oklahoma. The day began with a safety meeting prior to the commencement of building the SPMT to move the modules.

"There were some concerns with the SPMT overheating due to the steep incline down to the wharf; however, the team was able to remedy the issue and loaded the first four components between 8 am and 7 pm."

The other four units were loaded the following day, but first the SPMT trailers needed to be extended to accommodate the larger size of the final four modules. Around 6 pm, all the units were secured, and the barge began the journey to the Port of Houston.

A local C.H. Robinson expert will be attending the direct offloading of the cargo from the barge to the ship’s hold for delivery to Mexico.

http://www.chrobinson.com