The Networking Platform for the World's Top Project Cargo Specialists

Sydney
00:02
Beijing
21:02
Cape Town
15:02
Los Angeles
05:02
Tokyo
22:02
Mumbai
18:32
London
13:02
New York
08:02

Megalift Handle 82tn Oil & Gas Pressure Vessel in Malaysia

19th October 2020

Megalift Handle 82tn Oil & Gas Pressure Vessel in Malaysia
Megalift Handle 82tn Oil & Gas Pressure Vessel in Malaysia

Earlier this year, Megalift (members in Malaysia) transported an oversized oil and gas pressure vessel from the fabricator's yard in Kemaman in the state of Terengganu to Petronas's chemical plant in Gebeng in the state of Pahang, covering a distance of more than 70km.

  • Cargo: Pressure Vessel
  • Dimensions: 27.30 x 5.82 x 6.18m
  • Weight: 82tn

Ms. Atikah at Megalift explains; "The road journey took two full days with another day to lift and position the cargo onto its foundation. Due to the height of the cargo, we had to take a detour instead of a direct route to avoid overhead bridges. The trailer typically moved along narrow passageways, trudged through villages and small towns before cruising along the coastal road to arrive at the chemical plant.

The height also meant we needed to lift and push up many overhead cables – at least 100 of them along the route. This obviously caused a significant slowdown in travel speed as well as massive obstructions and road congestion. We wish to give big thanks to the traffic authority for coordinating and diverting road users to keep everything in order."

Whilst the cargo was being transported, another team of Megalift's was stationed in Petronas's chemical plant to perform the ground preparation work including removal of fences and laying down of steel ramps and plates. On arrival, the 82tn pressure vessel was then lifted and placed onto its foundation using a 500tn crane – all handled by the expert Megalift heavy lifting team.

"We thank our client for the trust and confidence that we would always deliver the very best of our services."

An excellent project fully handled within three days by the knowledgeable and experienced team at Megalift! A video of the transportation is shown below and photos can also be viewed by clicking on the gallery.

http://www.megalift.com.my